Blogging for and about Youth Work and Young People

Starting Out

Well, I’m just starting out on this project and hope that it’s going to prove it’s worth as I start to suss out and discover how all the ‘new’ media can be used to help support the youthwork that I do and manage. It’s amazing what I am discovering as I slowly learn and navigate my way through the morass of information that you can dig up through googling and simple connecting from link to link.

And I’m not even at work at the moment….just doing it for fun!

Having just gone back over the Mediasnackers site I’ve discovered that there’s an interesting event over in Ireland, the Youth Media Democr&cy that looks like it could have a lot more info and discussion points. I think I’m away then, maybe I can source a colleague to go to check things out. I’ve been tasked, or will be once we have some more managers on board, to put together a strategy to develop our use of social media as well as to move our website forward. I’m not at all techie so learning very slowly how to get around all this.

Well, got to go – work will come around all to soon and need to be fresh tomorrow to finish off the volunteering strategy and move offices!

Comments on: "Starting Out" (3)

  1. welcome to the world of blogging πŸ™‚ Good to see DK is getting the message across and that somebody in the youth work world is taking up the blogging challenge.

  2. billybean said:

    Thanks for the support – not too sure how this will go but trying and enjoying at the moment!

  3. Welcome to the blogosphere πŸ™‚ Really looking forward to hearing more πŸ™‚

    After a day working with a local authority today I’m more convinced than ever that youth professionals already have the core skills for engaging online. It’s a new community that needs mapping, and exploring – but the same skills of community development, informal education, accessible communication and good facilitation are those needed in the online world.

    Really looking forward to reading more of your learning πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

